California Attorney CLE hour credits

CLE Academy is an approved provider by the State Bar of California. Our provider number is 17355. Click here to view our approval letter.

California attorneys are required to complete 25 CLE hours every 3 years. As part of the 25 hour requirement, you must also complete 4 hours of Legal Ethics, 1 hour of Recognition and Elimination of Bias, and 1 hour of Competence Issues (Substance Abuse).

ONLINE COURSES AVAILBLE (Participatory courses):

Course Name
Course Hours
Price
25 Hour Bundle - Regularly $250 (Save $111)
  • Includes ALL of the courses listed below

25

$139.00Add to cart

How Lawyer Intuitions Prolong Litigation
3.5

$30.00Add to cart

Safety in Numbers? Deciding When DNA Alone is Enough to Convict
3.5

$30.00Add to cart

The Workplace and Alcohol Problem Prevention (Competence Issues/Substance Abuse)
1

$10.00Add to cart

The Movement for Open Access Law
1

$10.00Add to cart

Three Models of Legal Ethics (Ethics)
2

$20.00Add to cart

The Law of Implicit Bias (Recognition and Elimination of Bias)
2

$20.00Add to cart

Lawyers and Confidentiality
2

$20.00Add to cart

Ethical Cannabis Lawyering in California (Ethics)
2

$20.00Add to cart

Professional Responsibility for Benefit Corporations
2.5

$20.00Add to cart

Ethical Challenges Concerning the Use of Consulting Experts (Ethics)
1

$10.00Add to cart

Lawyers' Abuse of Technology
3.5

$30.00Add to cart

Implicit Bias in the Treatment of Women in the Boardroom
1

$10.00Add to cart

HOW TO COMPLETE COURSES

Here are the steps to complete a course:

  1. Purchase the course
  2. You will receive an email with your student account information and an emailed receipt. The Receipt page will also have a link to your “My Courses” page so that you can start your course immediately. Use the link in the email that was sent if you want to return to take your course at a later time.
  3. Complete the course. Once you have completed the course you will be able to immediately download and print your course certificate.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many CLE hours are required?
Twenty-five (25) CLE units every three (3) year compliance period. As part of the 25 unit requirement, California attorneys must also complete 4 hours of Legal Ethics, 1 hour of Elimination of Bias and 1 hour of Substance Abuse.

When is my education due?
Group 1 (A-G) Period: 2/1/2016 – 1/31/2019 (Deadline 2/1/2019)
Group 2 (H-M) Period: 2/1/2015 – 1/31/2018 (Deadline 2/1/2018)
Group 3 (N-Z) Period: 2/1/2017 – 1/31/2020 (Deadline 2/1/2020)

Can I carry hours forward to the next year?
No, you are not allowed to carry the excess hours forward to the next compliance period.

How are CLE credits reported to the state bar?
Attorneys must self-report to The State Bar of California. The State Bar of California is advising that attorneys should report their compliance online through My State Bar Profile. My State Bar Profile is an online feature for California attorneys to pay fees, update personal information, report MCLE compliance, etc.  Click the following link to access the My State Bar Profile webpage on The State Bar of California website:
https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/MyStateBarProfile.aspx

Does CLE Academy report my CLE hours completed?
CLE Academy does keep track, but does NOT report your compliance to The State Bar of California. While sponsors are required to retain attendance records, sponsors may NOT file compliance information on behalf of an individual attorney.

What are the rules regarding Self-Study Hours?
California attorneys can only take a maximum of 12.5 credits of self-study courses.

What is the difference between self-study and participatory?
The California rules specify that some types of activities qualify only for self-study credit. Other kinds of activities can qualify for participatory credit, depending on whether or not the particular activity is verified by the CLE provider.

Are there limits to the amount of self-study hours I may take?
California attorneys can earn NO MORE THAN 12.5 hours via self-study credit in each compliance period. California attorneys can earn all 25 hours via participatory credit.