Mississippi Attorney CLE hour credits

Mississippi attorneys are required to complete 12 CLE hours each year by July 31st. As part of this 12-hour requirement, you must complete a minimum of 1 hour of legal ethics, professional responsibility, professionalism, malpractice prevention, substance abuse or mental health (the “ethics/professionalism hour”).

Attorneys can earn up to 6 hours per year, including the 1 hour ethics requirement, through distance learning courses.

The courses offered by CLE Academy are considered distance learning courses.

 

HOW TO COMPLETE COURSES

Here are the steps to complete a course:

  1. Purchase the course
  2. You will receive an emailed order receipt. The receipt will include links to your course(s) so that you can start your course(s) immediately, you will use these links to start or resume your course(s) at any time.
  3. Complete the course. Once you have completed the course you will be able to immediately download and print your course certificate.

ONLINE COURSES AVAILABLE:

Course Name
Course Hours
Price
6-hour bundle - Regularly $60 (Save $11)
  • Lawyers’ Abuse of Technology
  • "Dirty Experts": Ethical Challenges Concerning, and a Comparative Perspective on, the Use of Consulting Experts
  • Bias in the Boardroom: Implicit Bias in the Selection and Treatment of Women Directors
  • The Movement for Open Access Law
6

$49.00Add to cart

Lawyers' Abuse of Technology
3

$30.00Add to cart

"Dirty Experts": Ethical Challenges Concerning, and a Comparative Perspective on, the Use of Consulting Experts
1

$10.00Add to cart

The Selection and Treatment of Women Directors: Gender Discrimination in the Boardroom
1

$10.00Add to cart

The Movement for Open Access Law
1

$10.00Add to cart

Frequently Asked Questions

How many CLE hours are required?
Twelve (12) CLE credits are required every year by July 31st. Of these 12 hours, one must be in the area of legal ethics, professional responsibility, professionalism, malpractice prevention, substance abuse or mental health (the “ethics/professionalism hour”).

Attorneys have the option of attending up to six (6) credit hours of distance learning each year.

When is my education due?
All continuing legal education activities must be completed by July 31st of each year.

Can I carry hours forward to the next year?
If an attorney completes CLE credit hours at approved programs during a compliance period exceeding the number of hours required, the attorney may carry forward to the next compliance period up to 12 unused general CLE credits.

Does CLE Academy report my CLE hours completed?
No, once you have completed any continuing education course you will receive a certificate of completion from CLE Academy. With that certificate you can report it on your statement at the end of the year with that State of Mississippi Judiciary.

How many hours of audio-delivered programs can I complete per year?
Attorneys have the option of attending up to six (6) credit hours of online courses each calendar year.

Is CLE Academy an approved provider in the state of Mississippi?
Yes, the State of Mississippi Judiciary has approved CLE Academy to offer these continuing education courses.