Texas Attorney CLE hour credits

Texas attorneys are required to complete 15 CLE hours every year. As part of the 15-hour requirement, you must complete 3-hours of professional responsibility or legal ethics.

ONLINE COURSES AVAILABLE:

Course Name
Course Hours
Price
15 Hour Bundle - Regularly $150 (Save $71)
  • Includes ALL of the courses listed below

15

$79.00Add to cart

Professional Responsibility for Benefit Corporations
Approval Letter
2.5

$20.00Add to cart

Ethical Challenges Concerning the Use of Consulting Experts
Approval Letter
1

$10.00Add to cart

Lawyers and Confidentiality
Approval Letter
2

$20.00Add to cart

Lawyers' Abuse of Technology
Approval Letter
3.5

$30.00Add to cart

Implicit Bias in the Treatment of Women in the Boardroom
Approval Letter
1

$10.00Add to cart

The Law of Implicit Bias
Approval Letter
2

$20.00Add to cart

Three Models of Legal Ethics
Approval Letter
2

$20.00Add to cart

The Workplace and Alcohol Problem Prevention
Approval Letter
1

$10.00Add to cart

HOW TO COMPLETE COURSES

Here are the steps to complete a course:

  1. Purchase the course
  2. You will receive an email with your student account information and an emailed receipt. The Receipt page will also have a link to your “My Courses” page so that you can start your course immediately. Use the link in the email that was sent if you want to return to take your course at a later time.
  3. Complete the course. Once you have completed the course you will be able to immediately download and print your course certificate.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many CLE hours are required?
Fifteen (15) CLE units every year. As part of the 15 unit requirement, Texas attorneys must complete 3 hours of Legal Ethics and/or Professionalism.

When is my education due?
Each member’s compliance year shall begin on the first day of the month in which his or her birthday occurs. A member, who has not completed his or her CLE requirements by the first day of the birth month, will receive an automatic grace period through the last day of the birth month to complete and report any remaining CLE credits.

Can I carry hours forward to the next year?
Accredited continuing legal education and self-study completed during any compliance year in excess of the minimum 15 hour requirement for such period will be applied to the following compliance year’s requirement. This carryover provision applies to one year only.

How are CLE credits reported to the state bar?
CLE credits are reported by sending attendance to the MCLE Department in accordance with MCLE Regulations.

Does CLE Academy report my CLE hours completed?
To qualify as an Accredited CLE Activity, the CLE sponsor must keep track of attendance at the activity, whether it is live or prerecorded, or delivered individually, electronically, or in a group setting, and shall report attendance to the MCLE Department in accordance with MCLE Regulations.

What are the rules regarding Self-Study Hours?
A CLE activity shall be accredited for MCLE in Texas if the activity is recorded from a live accredited CLE activity, presented in any format, such as CDs and video recordings, as well as any downloadable format such as podcasts.

Are there limits to the amount of self-study hours I may take?
No, there is no limit to how many self-study hours can be taken in a renewal period.

Is CLE Academy an approved provider in the state of Texas?
Yes, the State Bar of Texas has approved CLE Academy as a continuing education provider. Our sponsor number is: A15835.